St. Paul’s Marshalltown (cemetery only)

Marshalltown  Memorial Dedication 08-10-14

Memorial Plaque

 

 

 

 

 

Originally the site of St Paul’s Church in Marshalltown this location is now the site of  St Paul’s Cemetery.

St Paul’s Church was built between 1842 and 1844 to serve the community of Marshalltown. Rev. William Bullock was the Rector at the time of consecration in 1844. The Church served the community of Marshalltown for 162 years. Many of the early residents of Marshalltown were buried on the grounds surrounding the Church.

Due to a decline in membership St Paul’s Church was closed and deconsecrated at a service attended by Bishop Fred Hiltz on November 19th, 2006.

In 2012 the Church building was dismanteled and most of the contents including the dedicated stained glass windows were moved to Trinity Anglican Church in Digby.

In 2013 a monument which includes the Bell from the belfry of St Paul’s Church was erected at the site of the former Church. The Cemetery is still in use and boasts a spectacular view from its highest point overlooking both St Mary’s Bay and the Annapolis Basin.